« | Marriage Laws | »

Mississippi Marriage Laws


Are you starting the process of planning your wedding day? The state of Mississippi has a ton to offer. The three types of weddings you have to choose from is either a traditional wedding, and elopement, or a destination wedding. Either way Mississippi can provide exactly what you are looking for. Those planning to elope can enjoy a fun filled weekend that the flashy lights of Tunica and Biloxi have to offer. Mississippi is quickly becoming known as the ideal place for a Las Vegas style wedding at a fraction of the cost. Maybe eloping is not your style and you are starting the process of planning a traditional or destination wedding that encompasses the traditional southern elegance of an old south plantation. Either way you first need to make sure that the marriage laws of the State of Mississippi are met.

Mississippi State Marriage Laws and Mississippi Marriage License Requirements

Valid US ID

When filling out the paper work for your marriage license you will need to have a picture ID such as a driver’s license or a military id. If you do not have a picture id you can provide a legal document that contains a birth date i.e. birth certificate, tax form, educational documentation, insurance policies, or any other legal document containing proof of age. Mississippi Marriage License Requirements doe require that you have your parent’s addresses as well as your mother’s maiden name.

Residency

Neither the bride nor groom have to be a resident or past resident of the state of Mississippi. This is one of the reasons that Mississippi is a popular choice of an elopement.

Waiting Period

Mississippi does have a waiting period, so make sure you factor this into the planning process. The waiting period in MS is 72 hours. Many couples from surrounding states choose to take a daytrip a few weeks before their wedding to fill out the marriage license paper work. In special circumstances the waiting period can be waived for those over the age of 21, but the waiting period is only waived for those who live in Mississippi and must be authorized by a Judge.

Length Marriage License is Valid

Like the marriage laws of Georgia a Mississippi marriage license issued in the state of Mississippi never expires.

Medical and Other Tests

Mississippi is one of the few states that still require a blood test. The test does not have to be done in the state of Mississippi, but does have to be done within 30 days of the wedding. The cost for a submitting the results of the blood test is about $15.

Age Requirements

Mississippi is one of the few states that require parental consent for either the bride or groom who is under the age of 21. One seemingly out of date law requires that the groom be at a minimum of age 17 and that the bride be at least the age 15 to marry in the state.

Marriages by Proxy

Mississippi does not allow proxy marriage or common law marriages.

Previously Married

You will be required to provide the end date of any previous marriage when filing for your Mississippi marriage license. Some counties in Mississippi do require a certain elapsed time before remarrying after a divorce. Make sure you contact the county clerk’s office for exact details.

Fees and Taxes

There is a fee for both the blood test and the license. The blood test is about $15 and the marriage license fee is $22. The county clerk’s office will only accept cash as payment for the license.

Marrying a Cousin

You may not marry a cousin in the state of Mississippi.

Common Law

Mississippi marriage laws strictly prohibit common law marriages.

Same Sex Marriages

In 2004 the constitution of Mississippi was amended to explicitly prohibit same sex marriages. Further more, any same sex marriage or union conducted in anther state will not be recognized as a legal union by the state of Mississippi.

Wedding Officiants

Those who can legally officiate a wedding are clergy members, School board members, and most judges in the state of Mississippi.

Miscellaneous

Please remember that marriage laws very from county to county within the state of Mississippi, contact the clerk in the county you wish to marry in for exact details. Also make sure you ask the Clerk if you have any questions because chances are the county clerk will only give you the very basics as far as requirements go. If you have any questions or concerns then you will have to ask some very direct question.

Obtaining a Copy of Marriage Certificate

You may obtain a copy of your Mississippi marriage certificate by writing the vital records department in Jackson Mississippi.
Mississippi Vital Records
P.O. Box 1700
Jackson, MS 39215-1700
Phone: (601) 576-7450

Premarital Counseling

There is not a premarital counseling requirement.

Surrounding State’s Marriage Laws and Requirements

Due to the fact the marriage laws in the state of Mississippi are rather strict, some might choose to marry in a surrounding state and just spend their honeymoon in one of Mississippi’s many resorts. If you are interested in the marriage laws of surrounding states then please visit these pages: Tennessee Marriage laws, Florida Marriage Laws, and Alabama Marriage Laws.

Topics: Mississippi | Comments Off

Comments are closed.