« | Marriage Laws | »

Florida Marriage Laws


Florida is an extremely popular state for destination weddings. From the white sandy beaches of Sanibel Island, Captiva Island, and the Florida key to the magic of the perfect Disneyland wedding Florida can exceed any of your expectation for your destination wedding. What also make Florida popular is that there is no waiting period for non residents. Please remember that every county in Florida has slightly different requirement for obtaining a marriage license, so before you start looking at honeymoon packages, please make sure you have all the legal requirements taken care of to receive a Florida marriage license. If you are looking for a great place to honeymoon on Sanibel Island, then please check out http://www.sanibelislandhotels.info/ for up-to-date hotel information and deals. Sanibel Island is one of the most charming islands in Florida to honeymoon.

Florida Marriage Laws and Requirements

Valid US ID

In some Florida counties they will require a certified copy of both the bride and grooms birth certificate. Other than the birth certificate you will need a social security card and a picture ID such as a passport, or driver’s license.

Residency

There is no residency requirement in order to get married in Florida.

Waiting Period

For Florida residents there is a 3 day waiting period from the time you receive your marriage licensee. The 3 day waiting period is waived if both the bride and groom have received premarital counseling from a certified premarital course provider. Also, for none residence the waiting period is waived.

Length Marriage License is Valid

The state provides for a 60 day window from the time the marriage license becomes effective. In the case that the 60 window is exceeded you will have to pay all fees again, and go through the process of getting a new license.

Medical and Other Tests

No medical tests are required.

Age Requirements

As long as the bride and groom are 18 years of age or older then they may marry without parental consent. At the age of 17 parental consent is needed in order to marry. Either both parents or the parent who has sole custody must give consent. The state of Florida does provide for those under the age of 17 and who have children to marry. The existence of a child must be verified by a doctor and the marriage must be okayed by a judge.

Marriages by Proxy

Proxy marriages are not allowed in Florida.

Previously Married

If remarrying after a divorce or the death of a spouse and it is within 30 days of the death or divorce, then you must provide the Judgment of Divorce or the Death Certificate. Outside of the 30 days you will only need to supply the dates of the divorce or death.

Fees and Taxes

A Florida marriage license, for those who have not taken the state recommended premarital counseling course, will cost $93.50. If you have taken the course it will be discounted $32.50, which would bring the cost to $61. You may only pay in cash. They accept no other form of payment.

Marrying a Cousin

Yes. Florida marriage laws do provide for marrying a cousin, but if you do I would not tell anyone.

Common Law

There are no common laws marriages in the state of Florida.

Same Sex Marriages

Under no circumstance are you allowed to marry someone of the same sex.

Wedding Officiants

There are three groups which can perform marriages in Florida. They are Justices of the peace, any ordained or licensed clergy member, and notary publics.

Miscellaneous

You must read the Florida Marriage handbook before you can receive a license. The handbook is a 17 page booklet that explains the legal agreement that is taking place when you marry. Please remember that marriage laws very from county to county, so make sure you contact the particular county you wish to marry in for exact details.

Obtaining a Copy of Marriage Certificate

To obtain a copy of your Florida marriage certificate you can contact the Department of Children and Families Division of Vital Statistics in Jacksonville FL.

Premarital Counseling

The State of Florida does not require premarital counseling as a prerequisite for receiving a Florida marriage license. Though, the state will take $32.50 off the cost of the marriage license if you do obtain some pre marriage counseling.

Topics: Florida | 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Florida Marriage Laws”

  1. ARLENE Says:
    May 8th, 2007 at 9:34 am

    I have a concern. I was married in washington state March 1994/ Later moved out April 1994 and we both signed dissolution papers. I trusted him to turn it in to the lawyers ect. However since I never received any confirmation , I found out nevertheless that no dissolution was found nor divorce. It has been 13 years and I have not seen this guy, we did live together for 5 years prior to that and had two children & he is not named on their birth certificates.
    5 years later I had another child by another man and later 2 more children with this same another man. This man & I have had a live in relationship for the past 12 years. One day because of an accident he had, he later was entitled to receive social security compensation. Only that his daughters were not entitled because SSI said that these daughters are not legally his and that my long time so called “husband” is their father> even if there were paternity test done to prove this all to be true. Please help and let me know what can I do?

  2. Dan Butler Says:
    October 30th, 2009 at 5:33 am

    Can non-US citizens marry in Florida if they meet the requirements for U.S. citizens? Will they need a SSN to do so?